Monday, July 28, 2014

The remains of the town after the war - a home for the dead and the living

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Sunday, January 26, 2014



Quick lighting study

Sunday, January 05, 2014

Friday, December 20, 2013

Saturday, December 14, 2013

Wednesday, December 11, 2013


Inspired by the fog and trees from the train this morning

Thursday, December 05, 2013

Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Saturday, November 30, 2013

Thursday, November 28, 2013

The mysterious 'untitled game'
 




Thursday, November 07, 2013

 Too High



Weather Demon

Thursday, October 31, 2013

No Subject

....so ive been trying out some new brushes is PS intead

Friday, October 25, 2013


Woodland cottage

I got myself a surface pro 2 so  I can live the digital painting dream!

This was done in the free painting software that comes with the tablet on the train this morning.

Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Wednesday, October 16, 2013




Rainy Day

We didn't set a theme this week as everyone is so busy, but this is an image I wanted to create. 
30 mins

Wednesday, October 09, 2013

Timosaurus Rex

This weeks theme at sketch club was 'Dinosaurs' This was about 40 mins

Wednesday, October 02, 2013


DAWN

Sketch club! I only had 40mins as I have loads of other work to do tonight, but something is better than nothing.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013


20 min pre-sleep sketch 

Friday, September 20, 2013


                                                  Busted Ghosts

Myself and and the rather talented Christian Kesler (http://www.chrike.de/) have started a weekly sketch blog. We agreed that we could both spend two hours on a wednesday night creating an image on a theme - this week: GHOSTBUSTERS! 
The original brief was to design a new character for the films: fist lesson, listen to the brief! I got this particular image stuck in my head and ended up forgetting the original brief......it was my marshmellow man moment and I had committed so had to see it through!
Its interesting only having two hours as well, you of course don't have time to really develop the depth, do loads of research etc but it does allow you to have a really cool spontaneous reaction to the subject instead.

There are a number of things I really want to work on over the coming months - 

Colour: I want to reign in my palette a bit, I tend to paint with far more saturation with digital paint than oils and some of the best work out there has a more limited palette with a colour chosen to add a real kick. Check out the work of Anders Zorn if you want to see a master of colour and tone.


and one of my favourite concept artists at the moment:


 
Ideas: Concept has a really functional side that I often ignore - I get caught up in colour and light. If you check out Christian's image on the blog (link below) you will see that he has created details and features that would really help answer questions in production. On my next piece I'm aiming to get some more of that in there, I've got to try and answer questions and find solutions with the image.

Overall I'm really hoping to get a boost of creativity and I'm really looking forward to getting back to painting. Since Ambient Studio closed its been like a creative desert, this should offer a much needed oasis!

See what we get up to here: